The Outlaw Josey Wales

My Dad used to watch Clint Eastwood movies when I was a kid, and I had seen the Beguiled (a favorite!), but I had never seen The Outlaw Josey Wales before last weekend.

Actually, a few weeks ago I almost posted something about Stand Watie, and found a clip of the Outlaw Josey Wales with Lone Watie, but that's the first time I ever knew the movie was even about the Civil War.

Then last week, it was on tv… so I watched it.  And found that one of the Civil War tunes I'd recently found was featured throughout the whole movie. 

If you live in Marin – it's on again tonight at 830, on channel 16.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fivesecondfuse.wordpress.com/2010/06/26/the-outlaw-josey-wales/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. One of my favorite movies!

  2. It was a really long one too. I really liked it a lot and can't believe I'd never seen it before. The Beguiled is one of my faves, I remember watching that one with my dad when I was young and I was a brat so I identified with that little girl. I really admired the seeming ease of her ummm what do you call her, ummm psychopathic sociopathicness? Snerkkk…And I was wrong, it's on Sunday night, not Saturday. I've been waiting all day to watch it to find out it's on tomorrow… go figure.I especially liked Chief Dan George as Lone Watie. The Watie Family story is quite something. I started a post about Stand Watie, I should really finish it. The anniversary of his surrender was just the other day and I thought of that half-written post…I had heard so many people talk of Josey Wales, I still can't believe I'd never even seen parts of it. You know, like sometimes things are on tv and you catch bits, but nope…

  3. "I never surrendered. But they took my horse and made him surrender…" 😉

  4. I like Dan George, but the best line was:Well, Mr. Carpetbagger. We got somethin' in this territory called the
    Missouri boat ride.


Leave a Reply

